1984 Nissan 720 bagged frame swap

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1984 Nissan 720 bagged frame swap

Hey guys, this is my first build I'm posting on the forum. Actually it's the first thing I've owned that I felt is worthy of being posted on the internet. I've had the truck since January of 2015. My grandfather passed away and I ended up getting his the 720 in the process of cleaning out his yard. He bought the truck from the original owner back in the late 80s/early 90s with around 80k on it, and a blown motor which he rebuild. The truck stayed on the road until about 99 when he deemed it to be unfit for the road. Back when I was about 7 or 8 years old we had plans of restoring the truck so I would have something for a first vehicle. We did a bunch of body work, but ended up giving up, due to a huge pile of issues with the truck. When I ended up with it, everyone was pretty sure it was never going to see the road again, considering it had been sitting in his swampy back yard rotting away for years. With a little help, me and a couple of my buddies actually got the engine to run, made a wood flatbed, wired in some boat trailer lights for the tail lights, and put some new tires on to pass inspection. I was debating on lifting it at one point, so i got a set of 33's for cheap. But for the year I've owned it, we have never been able to get it to move reliably.I came to the realization that the current drive train needed too much work for me to be happy. So one shitty day a couple of my buddies and I were sitting around debating what I should do with the pile of shit. We decided due to the frame rot we would be better off with a different platform to set the cab on. Also that way we could build the frame and drive train separate before we swapped the cab over. Lucky for me, my brother had just totaled his 94 f150. So I bought the truck off him for 250$ and parted it out, basically leaving me with a free frame with no rot and semi reliable drive trai