Captain's Benz S124

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Captain's Benz S124

I just recently understood that a w201 didnt have the space i need in a DD. Half a year with the 190e and now it seems like its being picked up next week or so.

A little about me. As for now im an apprentice as an industrial mechanic. Have had a few cars, but i began with a Hilux (and a few more after that) when i got my lisence. Grew up with my dad's v124 320-24v and my brothers w201 3.0-12v. Not quite sure if my taste in cars is based on genes or environment ...

The s124 was imported as a taxi from Germany in 2000. An early 1996 E300D Sportline. The engine is an OM606.910, 3.0-24v n/a diesel with 136bhp/100kW. 495k kms on the tach. As a result of this there is a rusted floor and yet more rust to find.

Plans

The plans is first of all to begin with a healthy car. Starting trouble, rust, paint, cleaning up and just make it whole again. How far i'll go is still uncertain, but om606.962 (turbodiesel) with manual pump sounds like great deal.

Comment

Progress

Rust part 1
      Leather interior
      Rust part 2

Comment

Picking it up

A coworker asked me if it was me which was looking for an estate. Had just the week earlier got closure and decided to keep the 190e past the coming winter. The guy at work told me he knew a lady wanting to sell her estate for just a small amount of money. Drove out to her, started, tried and looked at it. Gave her an offer like the value at the scrap yard and she gave in. Amazing!

While i drove it home the day after, the e-brake had to be torn out as it almost locked the rear axle a few times. An hour and shits done. Until 15mins later when a line was pumping out diesel like the Victoria Falls. Jumped in and never really get add things to the to-do list while turning the key.... nothing happens. Great ...

Picking up a car one hour away from home ending in 12 hour transportation and fixing it has to be my new personal record.