No announcement yet.

Wider than it is Long: A build thread.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wider than it is Long: A build thread.

Greeting Stanceworks,
    I’ve been a long time lurker, but I’ve decided to make a build thread to half motivate myself to keep working on my car, and half because I’ve been working hard for over 2 months- and I want to get some feedback on what I’ve done so far.

First off, this is how my car used to look:

It’s a 2002 Subaru WRX, on air suspension, and a ton of little things. I’m a big fan of wheel fitment, and wheels. It’s my little niche in the car community.

I’m also a big fan of VIP cars, and after seeing INSANE cars over in Japan that make no sense at all, but are cool as hell, I decided I needed that ridiculousness in my life. Which brings us to the current road my cars going down, my own handmade widebody/radius.

First I had to formulate a plan. I’m absolutely a novice at this, I’ve never done anything like it. I know if you’re super cool, and legit, you do a 100% metal widebody. Problem is I can’t weld and that’s hard as fuck. SO, I decided to do what I could and use a metal frame, or “skeleton”, to shape and add rigidity to the fender, and then smooth it up with fiberglass and body filler. Also, I wanted my fenders to have a smooth fender edge, as it’s extremely hard to replicate a manufactured look by hand. Luckily, I have a lot of cunning friends that are big on junkyards, and I realized that MK4 Jettas are plentiful around the junkyards of South Carolina. SO, I decided to make my handmade widebody out of MK4 Jetta fenders.

I started by cutting them into strips,

Drilling them onto the car, just to shape them up and make see how they would fit.

Then I got a good buddy of mine to tack weld the fenders to the car.

Then added some fiberglass,

And a little filler,

LOTS OF SANDING. SOOOO MUCH SANDING.