Techniques you use to get max bokeh?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Techniques you use to get max bokeh?

Hey i'm pretty new to photography in general (esp car photography) and was wondering how to get a nice blur/bokeh effect in the background, what ik so far is to use a wider aperture/lower F# and make sure stuff is exposed correctly

Sort of confused behind how to make the subject, foreground, background, exposure, composition etc... to work together to create that bokeh effect ya know... and just really not knowing where i should be standing or what my exposure settings should be

---

Some of the shots i'm talking about are here linked below...
    (i won't copy & paste the images w/o permission but the 1st pic i'm talking about is the red genesis and the 2nd is the silver volvo 940 doing a burnout w/e30 in the background)

The general style discussion forum, as well as a place to post your car, or any car for that matter.

Post your build threads here! Keep us updated on what you're doing in your garage.

Also i'm assuming most of you guys use a wide angle (zoom) type lens primarily and/or a combination of a zoom + prime lens...

You can do it similar ways, for example use good lens or be master of PS.

1. Canon 70D + Canon 70-200 f2.8 L (first generation 70-200 lens)

2. Canon 70D + 70-200 F2.8 L USM II IS

Good telephoto & fix lenses are the best for good bokeh.
    70-200 f2.8, 50 mm f1.4, 50 mm f1.8, 50 mm f1.2, Sigma 35 mm f1.4 ART, 85 mm f1.8 / f1.4. There is many different ways for that.
    Instagram: Fotomotiiv

FB: Fotomotiiv

Flickr: Fotomotiiv

Comment

Originally posted by banzaii View Post
      You can do it similar ways, for example use good lens or be master of PS.

Good telephoto & fix lenses are the best for good bokeh.
      70-200 f2.8, 50 mm f1.4, 50 mm f1.8, 50 mm f1.2, Sigma 35 mm f1.4 ART, 85 mm f1.8 / f1.4. There is many different ways for that.