N54 powered Datsun 240z

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• N54 powered Datsun 240z

So time for my next project after building my E30 and 2002. Ive wanted one of these before I even got my e30 since my father had a 78 280z when i was younger growing up but he unfortunately sold it before I was ever into cars. So i came across this 72 240z that has been sitting on jack stands in a barn for 10+ years to start as a father son project with the hope to get it into SEMA in a few years. The car was last registered in California in 87. It does have some rot unfortunately and the floors have been patched prior it looks like but most of that will be getting cut out anyway. I regretably sold my135i this past fall and miss the N54 so as a BMW technician my goal is to swap the entire driveline, subframes with suspenion, steering etc and ABS into the Z. So pretty much at the end of this will be a Z shell over a 335i. This will be by far my biggest project i've gotten myself into compared to the LS1 swap in my e30 and the m20 swap into the 2002.
    Hoping to get the car to media blast by the end of this month to get a nice clean start to it the all the fab work begins. I want the car to be turn key like its almost factory and be a nice car to really enjoy driving. Interior will stay mostly stock looking but will have a roll cage, nothing crazy just as added support, the outside is going to be widened, how much exactly i haven't quite figured out but the 335 track width is about 6 inches wider then the Z so its going to take some work for sure.

[IMG]image by wobbiee30, on Flickr[/IMG]
    [IMG]DSC_0072[/IMG]

Onto pics of the Z
    [IMG]IMG_8175 by wobbiee30, on Flickr[/IMG]
    [IMG]
    IMG_8178 by wobbiee30, on Flickr[/IMG]
    [IMG]IMG_8179 by wobbiee30, on Flickr[/IMG]
    [IMG]IMG_8180 by wobbiee30, on Flickr[/IMG]
    [IMG]IMG_8181 by wobbiee30, on Flickr[/IMG]
    [IMG]IMG_8182 by wobbiee30, on Flickr[/IMG]
    [IMG]IMG_8409 by wobbiee30, on Flickr[/IMG]