Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1991 Mazda RX7 - From junk, to showcar in $3,000

Hello know-it-alls.

I've been on here for a while, mostly creeping on your builds, or rants, and internet arguing. I've been meaning to make a build thread, and it seems now is the time. I'm new to the stance/slammed/wheel game, but I've been passionate about cars from as far back as I can remember. I've always been obsessed with putting big things into small spaces. When I was a kid, I tried to get the mechanic across the street to mount a 20hp lawnmower engine to my scooter. Years went by, and I never had the opportunity to do the stupid things that I wanted to do. Every one of my attempts was shot down. Some of the reasons were lack of workspace, tools, knowledge, money, and so on. Until a few years ago. I met a guy with a shop, and he mentioned once that I was welcome to use the shop if I needed it. A ray of hope. Over time I hinted to him about starting a V8-swap car build. He seemed curious. I didn't care if he was ready for it or not, cause I was. This was my chance. This was the only opportunity that I got! Knees weak, arms heavy, vomit on my sweater already moms spaghetti, I started looking for my fantasy project car. Drifting was getting pretty popular, and I'd be lying if I said it didn't inspire my build. I knew I wanted a rear-wheel drive coupe, but the rest was open game. Months went by, and I looked at everything from Cobra 427 kits, to Porsche 944's. Everything was priced high, and my self-imposed budget was $3,000.00 for the complete build. (hahahahaha retard) I kept looking, and one day, I found it.