No announcement yet.

Who the hell stances out a Dodge Omni?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Who the hell stances out a Dodge Omni?

This is a long and quite possibly boring story, but what the hell...

86 GLH. The Saga.

Back in fall of 2004 I was a broke college student living in Detroit when I started looking for a winter beater. I started looking at mk1 and 2 golfs, but ultimately I decided a GLH Omni would be a cool low key car that I could rock. The way I figured; it looked like a Golf (albeit a bit hokier,) but since I’d had a few Turbo dodges I knew I could push some power out of it, whereas I knew nothing about VWs.
    Onto the forums I went. I found one in Lansing - a clean southern car, that the dude had invested serious money under the hood; the car was pushing almost 300hp, and was running solid 12s passes, but his price was way more than my beater budget could swing, so that was that.

glh

previous owner at milan

Fast forward about 6 months – the car showed back up on the forums with less than half of the asking price. Over the winter, the owner had spun out and put it into a guard rail, crushing the fender, both driver doors, and damaging the rear dogleg. He rattle canned and installed a dr fender and door, but it was purely to sell the car. Nothing was gapped and it needed love. He was just discusted with it, and wanted to get out of turbo dodges and move on to something else.

Here’s what it looked like.

OMNI PICS APRIL 3 2005 006
    OMNI PICS APRIL 3 2005 016
    QUARTER DAMAGE1
    QUARTER DAMAGE3
    OMNI PICS APRIL 3 2005 010
    OMNI PICS APRIL 3 2005 013

I hit him up, test drove it, and we struck a deal.

(This was probably mistake number one of MANY I’ve made with this car. If there is one thing I learned from my many dumb actions, it’s to not buy a modified car ever again. Over the next few years, I would come to find so many “there, I fixed it” type of mods/fixes, but more on that later.)