AWD and staggered wheel setup

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• AWD and staggered wheel setup

i figured i'd copy and paste my question to these forums, because you guys seem to be helpful

hey so some of you guys know i'm trying to run 18x10 and 18x12 wheels under my vr4, and since i've been suspended i had to do my research elsewhere. i found that as long as the difference in the rolling diameters of the tires i choose to run has to be within/under a 5% difference. is this correct?

my friend helped me calculate some tire sizes and differences, and these are the 2 we came up with (i'm not asking for opinions on tire stretch either, i just want to see if our math is correct and the effects on the VCU):

i could run a 225/40 up front and a 255/35 out back resulting with a 1.53mm rolling diameter difference.

or my cheaper way out (since i can't have a car as a freshman, i'm temporarily jobless and broke) is just change the rear tires to a 265/35 (my current fronts are a 235/something, i can't remember off the top of my head), but my friend calculated that difference to be 2.54mm.

my current setup (hasn't been run yet) is a 235/xx up front and a 255/xx (also forgetting those exact sizes at the moment) for the backs. i feel like this should be in that 5% range as well, but the other 2 options don't sound that huge of a difference. i would like to just get the rear tires (due to my current lack of income and impatience), but would a 2.54mm rolling diameter difference hurt the VCU? i mean i think that's in my 5% range but i'm not sure.

after asking 3si, the only response that answered my question was that i want/need less than 1% difference in revs per mile.... while on HERE i got a 5-10% difference

eventually i will have to get new tires since i'll be camber-wearing them anyways, but would either leaving my current set up or getting new tires impact my VCU that badly? friendly input is very much appreciated, thanks for reading