This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to drain tank/system?

Greeting, I'm fairly new to bags and this will be my first time draining my system/tank. The tank was bolted to the floor of my trunk (onto the spare tire cover). I don't think the water trap was installed (even though I bought one) because I don't see it attached near the compressor.

How do I depressurize the system? By airing out?

Is there an order in what to unhook/unbolt? Will I need to unhook the battery if the car is turned off?

I assume once everything is unhooked I will need to unbolt the tank from the floor (?) and just tip it over one side to get rid of all the water that has accumulated?

Any tips/tricks/advice is greatly appreciated!

Bagged Civic Si | Accuair | Airrex | Full-Race | Skunk2 | Enkei | Flashpro

If the tank is properly installed, you should have a drain valve installed at the bottom of the tank. Unscrew it slowly and it will vent pressure and drip out all the condensation in the system. Some installers use electric tank drains, though I suspect you'd know it if you had one.

There also should be a safety valve somewhere on the tank or on a manifold coming off it. You can pull the ring on the safety valve and it will dump the pressure in the tank. A safety valve may be installed at the bottom of the tank to double as a drain, in which case just pull the ring and let the condensation drip out.

If your installer neglected to give you these two items, you can also disconnect your compressor's power and air up and down repeatedly to drain the pressure from the system. Your e-Level system will probably throw an error since it won't see the compressor kicking on, but it'll clear if you power cycle the system. Once you've got the pressure low enough, you should be able to pop the line off one of the PTC fittings and it'll dump the rest of the pressure.