Coil sleeves?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Coil sleeves?

I've been lowering trucks for a few years, but just got into lowering cars and came across lowering sleeves. I understand that they slide down over your strut then the coil sits on top but there are a few things I don't get.

Do you have to grind off the bottom spring cup when you out them on? I've seen them installed either way on google.

With a good aftermarket set of struts, how well would these perform vs real coilovers?

Also do you use a stock spring or a lowering spring when installing coil sleeves? I've seen them sold with and without.

Do you have to change the top mounts at all as far as where the spring seats in the upper cup?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm willing to do the cutting/fitting if it means spending $450ish on a set of good struts and sleeves rather then $1,300 on coilovers.

The car in question is a Toyota Camry (or possibly a corolla if I can't fix it's transmission). The only springs available are 2" drop and that's not good enough. I'd rather do sleeves then cut the springs.
    | 92 Corolla AE92 | HKS SMF, Testpipe, Hyperco/Tokico/GC | Houston, TX | 86Garage |

This should answer most of your questions-

Comment

That still doesnt explain why you need to cut off the lower spring perch. He doesnt even do that in this installation.

and

I guess that step is not necessary
      Last edited by kaidotech; 02-08-2012, 07:18 PM.
      | 92 Corolla AE92 | HKS SMF, Testpipe, Hyperco/Tokico/GC | Houston, TX | 86Garage |

Comment

He definitely does cut off the spring perch. Maybe you should read it again. But to answer your question, removing the perch will allow you to go lower.

Comment

Originally posted by sacrifice View Post
          He definitely does cut off the spring perch. Maybe you should read it again. But to answer your question, removing the perch will allow you to go lower.

END: