Shortening E30 struts

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shortening E30 struts

I've read a few threads but haven't really come to a good conclusion on the matter. My front shock just started leaking, so I figured it's time to do things right and shorten my next set of struts before they go on. I'm just on the ropes about which way to go.

Either G60 or IX shocks. A few questions first, should I be looking into strictly shock inserts and re-using the OEM housing? Or will I need a different shock housing? Lastly, what are my options for the rear as far as shocks go?

G60 shocks:
    -What all is involved in making these fit properly? I can't find a good "walkthrough" of sorts on shortening struts, as I've never done it before.
    -Any reason to go with Koni's over Bilstein in this case?
    -A few people shorten them "2-3 inches", is that just the insert, or is it the housing as well? I thought I read that modifying E30 housings causes issues with wheel clearance, but I could be wrong.

E30 IX shocks:
    -I know they're shorter shocks already, so will shortening them or the housing be necessary at all? Or would I just use a spacer in the housing or..?

Car in question; 1986 325e with serious lack of lows:
    Last edited by zx666r; 12-08-2011, 11:40 AM.

I think you may be a bit confused?

Do you already have a coil over conversion kit on there?

E30 V8 Build thread

Go here be happy!

Instagram: stuartrussell

Store: alwaysindividual.bigcartel.com

Comment

There's a coil conversion on it, but it's a cheap no-name brand. The shocks are KYB's, switched to the coil conversion from vogtlands.

Comment

You should shorten the struts and go with koni adjustables. i wouldnt change for anything else

Comment

Originally posted by Stolzy View Post
          You should shorten the struts and go with koni adjustables. i wouldnt change for anything else