Coil help Mk3 Golf

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Coil help Mk3 Golf

What's up everyone, I am still new to all of this and am beginning work on my first car. (mk3 golf) Just curious if you could help point me in the right direction of a few decent brands of coilovers. I am not interested in anything cheap but at the same time I do not need the stuff pros use. If you're really bored and about like to help out with companies that also make good camber kits. Thanks in advance.

Well, first there's not much stuff available for camber cause the MK3's rear axle is fixed. Front camber can be adjusted but you should have done that by a pro.

As for coils: you can buy everything from cheap to insanely expensive for the mk3. Cheapest ones are TA Technix coils, JOM coils and Tuning Art. Good coils for reasonable money are AP which is subsidiary company of KW (top notch).
    Best coils for smallest money are FK street coils cause FK uses Koni shocks.
    I have H&R rebound 30 coils in my Corrado (which is the same set i had in my MK3 back then). I'm more than satisfied but these are quite expensive.
    slamburglars.com

Comment

Thanks, that helps give me a good head start. Did you have any problems with any of your VW's? Probably should ask in a different part of the forum, but thought it was worth asking someone experienced.

Comment

Didnt have any problems with axles, drive shafts or anything! Just get new top mount before installing the coils! There are also lowering spring caps for the fronts available which i'd recommend to you. Advantage is that these lower the front axle about 15mm and you dont have to crank down the coils like crazy which you mean they become very stiff. As far as i know they're not available for the rears though...

Feel free to ask me if you got any more questions bud!
        Last edited by G535; 11-03-2011, 04:42 AM.
        slamburglars.com

Comment

i had AP coilovers, and i liked them loads