Fabrication question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fabrication question

Hey guys! Ive been building custom coilovers for my 1990 saab 900 and they are coming along great but because of space restrictions coilovers are not going to slam it. To go real low I am going to have to raise the upper spring tower.

I know nothing about cutting/welding/fabrication, but my thought was that I could just cut out the top of the tower, put an inch or 2 of metal inbetween and weld it all together (with the help of an experienced welder)

I guess my open ended question is how do I do this right? What should I do about bracing ect or can I weld it up and be on my way?

Ill post up more pictures to give you an idea of what im talking about, but here is the current suspension setup.
    Originally posted by JC.
    'Stance' doesn't have to be scraping your car along the floor, that is simply the scene that has caught on. As long as your car looks amazing (in your eyes) while your rolling down the street, that is your own personal perfect stance.

Never be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the ark. Professionals built the Titanic.

what space restrictions?

Comment

To get real low it would require a 7-8inch shock and even then Ill have almost no shock travel because I have to use a tapered 2.8 ind top hat to avoid clearance issues with the inner fender.
      Originally posted by JC.
      'Stance' doesn't have to be scraping your car along the floor, that is simply the scene that has caught on. As long as your car looks amazing (in your eyes) while your rolling down the street, that is your own personal perfect stance.

Never be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the ark. Professionals built the Titanic.

Comment

Good image of the spring tower, not mine but same car. My thought would be to raise that whole thing like 2 inches.

Kinda the idea, in REALLY rough form.
        Last edited by soab; 06-27-2011, 07:22 PM.