Spring Rates.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spring Rates.

Wondering what you guys with aggresive fitment are running for spring rates. Especially you e36ers. I'm planning on getting coilovers soon and am looking for a good rate that will prevent me from rubbing and be as comfortable as possible at the same time. I drive my car often and don't want it to be back brakingly stiff.

I have H&r springs + bilsteins right now (car came with them). And my rears rub whenever I turn even slightly fast, lol. I'm running 17x9.5+17 in rear with 215/40's

I'm thinking around 600f/700-750r? idk I'm no pro, just going by what I've read.

Comment

Thanks for the info^ .. I was thinking I would probably need rates somewhere around there

Also looking for peoples opinions on how certain rates ride. Let me know how you guys like them and if you could daily a car that stiff. Mine isn't a daily, but I do drive it a good amount.

Comment

600f/700r on my e36. daily driven. its bumpy but i also have all urethane bushings so that adds to it. not bad for a daily car. need to turn my rebound down tho.

go with that, i also know riffman12 (mike) is running 525 front and 550 rear or something close to that and it rides pretty good. i know he rubs in the rear sometimes but nothing too bad.

Comment

So you think 600/700 is bearable for a daily? What kind of coilovers are you running?

The only experience I really have with spring rates is 447f / 335r stance coilovers on my old 89 240sx which wasn't bad. I'm not sure what the rates on my h&r springs that are on my e36 now are, but they're obviously way to soft for the wheels I'm trying to. I just don't want to end up getting a setup that I am not comfortable with driving often.
          Last edited by Morbid; 10-06-2009, 01:01 AM.

Comment

Noone else with an e36 wants to chime in? I know there is like 10 more of you on here..

Comment

I think your question has been answered. Brad is right pretty much.